Nominations announced for the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022

The nominations have been announced for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. The Awards are organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live. The recipients of the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022. The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom.

The award categories reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene: Jazz Vocalist of the Year; Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year; Jazz Album of the Year; Jazz Ensemble of the Year; Jazz Newcomer of the Year; Jazz Venue of the Year; Jazz Media Award; Jazz Education Award; and the Services to Jazz Award.

Following the online public vote for the Awards, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel, that represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their passion and knowledge of jazz. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz  Group (APPJG), will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022.

These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who helped kept jazz flourishing.  These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 17th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.

John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJG

The full list of nominees is as follows:
Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Claire Martin. Emma Smith. Brigitte Beraha. Jo Harrop.

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Tony Kofi. Xhosa Cole. Fergus McCreadie

Jazz Album of the Year: Matt Ridley The Antidote. Daniel Casimir Boxed In. Jo Harrop The Heart Wants

Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Kansas Smitty’s House Band. Black Top. Nikki Iles Jazz Orchestra.

Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Deschanel Gordon. Alex Clarke. Emma Rawicz. Chelsea Carmichael

Jazz Venue of the Year: Toulouse Lautrec. The Globe, Newcastle upon Tyne. The Verdict, Brighton.

Jazz Media Award: The Jazz Podcast. London Jazz News. Jane Cornwell.

Jazz Education Award: Jazz Camp For Young Girls  – Helena Summerfield. Nikki Yeoh.
Pete Churchill.

Services to Jazz Award: Mike Westbrook. Help Musicians. Dave Green. Nigel Price

Congratulations to all those who made it on to the shortlist, no mean feat in a very vibrant UK jazz scene.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.